90s (7spd) frame and new wheels

mjoppers

Retro Newbie
Morning,

I have my eye on a 97 Kona Koa to convert to rigid single speed. This is my first build project though so I want to be sure what my wheel options are before I commit.

If the spacing between the drop outs is currently for 7 speed, what are my options for single speed? Do I have to look for old wheels/have limited choice on new wheels on a 7 speed hub or pay considerably for a new wheel build?

Any advice greatly appreciated and please excuse any unintentional ignorance. As I say, this is my first build and first post.

Thanks in advance.

Re:

Hello and welcome,

The 1997 Kona Koa has a 135mm rear dropout O.L.D. (Over Locknut Dimension) so you have vast choice of wheels that you can use.

Someone on here will be able to give you better advice than me with regards to Single Speed conversion. From my limited experience, it is just a case of slipping a few spacers over the Freehub Body with a Rear Sprocket slipped in between to get the best Chainline with whatever Crank profile you have.

Pip

Re:

Thanks Pip - both for the welcome and the advice.

Well, that's fantastic news all round then and my decision made!

Much appreciated. Matthew.

Hi Matthew.. Pip has summed it up really- just wanted to say On One Bikes often have bargains in the single speed conversion dept. As he said, it is good practice to get the chainline right, everything will run better and wear less. Using the right spacers on the freehub should help achieve that easily compared to swapping out bottom brackets. Presume you're using something to tension the chain- horizontal dropouts are neater, and save weight though..
Oh, and welcome!

Re:

Thanks very much for the tip. I'll be heading there for some bars anyway so sounds good.

All help much appreciated. Excited about the build now!

Thanks.

Superstar are worth looking at for spacers too (nice coloured ones!)