Headset Fit Advice - 91 Roberts White Spider II

7Speed

Retro Guru
I am a very average mechanic and need some advice on fitting a 1” threaded headset to a Roberts White Spider. I am a headset fitting virgin and it all looks a bit intimidating.

I picked up a 1" HP-M900 Headset but it seems this came in a few different cup sizes. It was described as "English" which I thought meant ISO standard thread. The frame head tube internal diameter comes up as 29.9mm when I measure it. The headset cups outside diameter come up as just over 30mm - around 30.2mm. The 0.3mm difference seems like quite a bit. The same headset also comes in a version with a 30.0mm outside cup diameter. I have the tools etc to press the bearing cups but really don't want to damage the frame. Is the 0.3mm nothing to worry about and essentially needed for a good fit? Any advice welcome.

7Speed

Normally you would have 30.2 for the 1" headset on an MTB, it could be your internal reading or you need a special 30.0 cup headset.
The frames steel, it'll be the cups that go if anything ?

What's your crown race diameter (just another variable to worry about with 1" headsets ;-))

Stick Roberts W S in the title, as owners/builder may jump on the frame knowledge.
My personal advice for most people building bikes would be.
ohh it's a bit stiff, whack it a bit harder (hammer and wood method), probably the method used by everyone at home circa late 80s or them pesky Oranges.

Older headsets (loose ball XT/DX M73x & M65x )

1706961195692.png

M900
1706961145006.png

Then most up to date spec (this is 199:cool: cartridge XT/LX
1706961334654.png

Sooo…more measuring suggests I have a HP-M900 1” headset with 30.2 cups and 26.4mm crown race - @FluffyChicken thank you for telling me to measure the crown race.