New boy on the scene 97 rockhopper

Singhsan

Dirt Disciple
Hi folks,

Been lurking for a while, and been looking out for a retro bike.

Well today I pulled the trigger and got a specialized rockhopper.

I must confess I know nothing about it, but when I was younger I always lusted after getting one of these but could never afford it.

I've been told it's a 1997, aluminium and rear rack has the specialized logo on it, Richey scx 26 inch wheels (according to the stickers) and integrated brake lever/gear levers marked up as Shimano deore.

So here she is
IMG-20230117-WA0003.jpeg
This is the only picture I have to hand right now. I will put up some more if anyone's interested.

The plan is watch a lot of YouTube videos, watch them again and then start to clean the dirty bits, grease moving but and just give it a general tidy up. Then just get on it and ride it for local trips (shops, cafés, and the occasional a single track weather permitting).

As I said, I'm new to all of this, so if anyone has any advice, comments, or ideas please share them.

Thanks for dropping by

Singhsan

Welcome.

Good starter bike for a hobby that can become expensive unless you have good self-control.

I'd have a closer look at where your rear rack is mounted into the seat stays. I'm no expert on Rockhoppers, but with the paint flaking in the way that it has I think the stays may have been drilled to fix the rack on. If you get chance, can you post a couple of close up photos?

We need to make sure that it's supposed to be mounted that way, or your safety might be compromised if the stays are cracking, and a big hole that shouldn't be there.

Screenshot_20230117_182203_Firefox.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome.

Good starter bike for a hobby that can become expensive unless you have good self-control.