Motorbike insurance claim advice needed please

ferrus

Breezer Fan
Feedback
View
Hey guys, having been a cyclist all my life I’m new to biking and this will be my first claim, I could do with some advice please!
A friend of my neighbour/landlord backed her Discovery into my bike, knocking it over. The clutch lever’s bent, the speedo casing’s broken and the steering lock seemed stuck. I eventually managed to unlock it but the bike wouldn’t start (fuel injection’s appears ok) Now the steering lock won’t budge.
She’s been really nice about it all and is happy to take responsibility but she sent me an email asking if I could get a garage quote for repairs before going through our insurance companies, in case it’s not worth her claiming. Seemed fair enough to me, but my dad and best mate both reckon I have to let my insurance know and should leave all arrangements up to her company..

This bike is my sole form of transport. Being ‘vulnerable’ due to long term illness I’m trying to avoid public transport at the mo’. I’ll miss not having it and had wondered if the insurance might provide a replacement bike till mine’s fixed...?
Also, the garage would have to collect it before making an assessment; it could all get a bit messy if she (or her company) dispute the bill....

What do you reckon?

Re:

Sorry to hear about the mishap.I'd say go through the proper channels n let them worry about the finances.That's what insurance is for.Doesn't take much to stack up a big bill on modern bike parts,it needs to be put right as I'm sure you'll agree.You don't want to be left out of pocket on top of the inconvenience.I've known 7 grand bikes get written off from toppling over awkwardly.Sounds like the steering lock took a hammering if it was on when it got knocked.Non starting most likely due to oil from the sump getting slopped up the bores.