Help needed for my Holdsworth build

Tom79

Retro Guru
Feedback
View
Hi all,

Firstly, I'm a total noob when it comes to the retro road side of things so please bear with. I'm looking to put "newer" kit onto my Holdsworth Hurricane frame as I want to use it as a bit of a touring bike/general slow cycling let's potter about in the countryside type ride.

I'm struggling to work out which groupset to use for it. I'm getting the appropriate mech hanger brazed on as part of the restoration, so I can accept modern components. Ideally I guess I'll be going for 9 or 10 speed, and Holdsworth of old always used to pair up with Campag stuff.

The tubing is 28.6mm and I need a clamp on front Mech....my thinking is Campag Veloce as it's new-ish but will also still look quite good on the frame. Just wondering if anyone else had any advice on what to go for, or am I on the right lines?

Cheers

Whats the age of the frame? The only thing to consider is the rear triangle width for the right sized rear wheel hub. If you wanted to run 9/10 speed it’ll be a 130mm wide rear and if your frame is old-ish it might need widening (which might be a good thing to get your frame builder / repairer to do unless you wanted to cold set it yourself.)
If you don’t have cable bosses on the down tube those could also be added or just use the band with a set of cable guides on that (to take the shifter cables from the front mechs onto the frame.
All do-able stuff, Campag looks great on Holdsworths (I’ve a Hurricane and a Mistral) post some pictures for more advice, sounds like a good project :)

Whats the age of the frame? The only thing to consider is the rear triangle width for the right sized rear wheel hub. If you wanted to run 9/10 speed it’ll be a 130mm wide rear and if your frame is old-ish it might need widening (which might be a good thing to get your frame builder / repairer to do unless you wanted to cold set it yourself.)