1998 Bianchi Nth - Steel is Real! + a take/make over

MuchAlohaNui

Senior Retro Guru
Hello. Long time lurker, relatively new poster and collector of things.

I picked up this 1998 Bianchi Nth recently, for some of the parts, as a means to an end of a very very slow build up of my 1999 Schwinn Homegrown Factory Team that has spanned close to a decade. At the time of acquisition of the Homegrown frame, I was a Sophomore in college and on a very limited budget. Over time, and to my ignorance, I picked up M950 parts along the way to get the bike in a ride-able and personally acceptable state. To my lack of knowledge, I was unaware of the switch in 1998 being M950 XTR 8-spd to 1999 being a sprinkle of M950 and primarily M951/952/953 Mega 9-spd. So this Homegrown was built with M950 and 8-spd. Oops. All the parts ended up being M950 with the cranks M952 (at least I got one thing right). To add insult to personal pride I had to swallow that at the time to muster up the funds, I bought these powder-coated red crank arm M952's in the picture. I got a screaming good deal and believe it or not the only bidder! :LOL:

FF to current time, life is on a different track personally and financially so I am able to start projects and finish them within the decade. As mentioned above, the goal was to buy this Bianchi, take the original green Wild Grippers and the 1999 Sid fork, put those parts on the Homegrown and sell the rest. Too bad so sad, change of plans.

This steel-framed Bianchi is pretty neat and I like steel frames. So the Bianchi stays and so is the star of this build thread, this makeover thread if you will. I think my wife saw it coming when she looked at the bike the morning after I brought it home.