1997 Tunturi Kayapo - Restoration of Finnish steel classic

Dami

Retro Guru
Feedback
View
Hi guys!

I've been repairing and building bikes for 20 years now and also done some limited restorations, but this was definitely my first total restoration. When I found the bike it was headed for the junkyard, it was sprayed with rattle cans and was pretty much made of 22 years of high use no maintenance. Positive thing was that it still had almost all of the original components on and the frame was still solid without any major problems.

Tunturi itself is a traditional Finnish bike company who has been in the markets since 1920's. In the 1990's they were one of the many quality MTB frame designers in the world and were for example using plasma welding on their bikes, like also in this Tunturi Kayapo. They had their own MTB teams, downhill bikes, and riders, and the highest end models included titanium frames with XTR.

The things that make this bike special to me (and many Finns) is that

A) It is Finnish made so it was around and available very well in the 90's Finland
B) Back then it was a REALISTIC dream bike for many kids with full STX-RC (little less than 1500€ converted to current money value)
C) The beautifulishly awful 90's colour scheme made it one of the most iconic MTBs for some of us Finns
D) Living in small towns in the 90's we didn't even know about any titanium GT's etc. so the dream bike bar was set low :)