1970s(?)ish Falcon city/road bike - Beginner restoration

Barns150

Dirt Disciple
Hi all :) I'm Barney, from Kent. Just posted my hello message a moment ago.

I'm an almost complete beginner to bikes, and I've decided to take on an old Falcon as a project, half for fun and half to get myself something to ride. I would welcome any comments anyone might have for me!

I wanted to start cycling more due to lockdown, and my Dad's hybrid is pretty awful, so I decided to go for a road bike. I was thinking new and cheap, but I saw a rusty old bike for £30 which I could collect that day, and I couldn't resist. It's a Falcon something - seems like it might be 70s according to the searches I've done. I can only find one other bike with the same logo online, and the owner thought it was from '73. I think it's a city bike but it also looks like a road bike to me.

I've relatively little experience with bikes, although I did used to ride a lot as a kid. I've been being a bit more active in doing minor car repairs etc lately, and I get mechanics fairly well. I've got a Haynes bike book at my disposal and most normal tools plus a few bike tools.

It's in seemingly good condition. Some surface rust, nothing bad, and apart from the bearings all being knackered, everything else is in working order - albeit much older gear than I've ever used or even seen. The frame looks like it's in alignment.

I have a few vague ideas for what I want to do with the bike. Obviously, a clean and de-rust are needed - the rust is all surface and not really bad at all, except on the wheel rims. It did have panniers and a dynamo rear light, however I think I'll keep those off as I don't need them or the weight.

Starting with the easy bits, the handlebars are fine, will just need a sand and taping up. I've got a seat to replace the ball crusher which it had, and the post came out fine. Brakes are straddle wire cantilevers - wires need replacing but the calipers and pads seem ok.