Retro bike upgrade questions

Bosa

Retro Newbie
Hello, people, I'm new to the world of DIY bikes so wondered if I could ask some (most likely) constantly asked questions, I've just gotten back from a 500 plus mile trip around the SE coast of the UK and it got me mad into bikepacking.

I'm looking for a retro bike to turn into a little bit of a gravel/mountain bike. In order to do this I would need to find:

.An 18" steel frame with a straightish crossbar
.A headset able to take modern threadless forks (for mounting kit for travelling)
.The option for bigger wheels
.I want it to be cheapish (Have seen good stuff for around £70-£150)

I have been looking mainly at The Diamondback-Sorrento and the Specialized Rockhopper Comp

I have been told varying info on the headset of them being 1-1/8th inch however and I'm starting to get very confused.

I wonder if anyone knows any specific years that the above features apply to or know of any other bikes that have said features.

If anyone can help I would be very grateful!

Thanks!

bigger wheels.. as in just fatter tyre or moving to 700c ?

why a straight crossbar (aka horizontal/not sloping top tube) ?

You'll only be looking for 1 1/8" headtube, but they will not take modern forks, they will take moderner forks. Modern forks have some weird multisized bigger headsets now ;-) Only joking they do still make them, but not as common.
Also what sort of modern forks, you don't want to be putting the long modern forks on the old bikes really.) boingy ones? disc tab ones ?

I'd be looking around 1994 to 1997
But generally 1992+ shoudl get you 1 1/8" headtube, though do check as some didn't use it till later.

If you've seen what you like. stick some links up.

I assume you want eyelets for racks and stuff ?

FluffyChicken":2kfqbjb7 said:
bigger wheels.. as in just fatter tyre or moving to 700c ?

why a straight crossbar (aka horizontal/not sloping top tube) ?