Out in the sun: John Perks 531

garanti_construit

Dirt Disciple
Hello fellow Retrobikers,

I've learned a great deal and spent many enjoyable hours seeing beautiful bicycles and ingenuity here at RB.

First time to start a post. I'm a novice with old bikes (even though the 3 formative bikes of my life were a Puch Mini Sprint in 1973, Raleigh Arena in 1978 and Peugeot Talisman in 1981). I've spent the last 20 years very happily with Campagnolo equipped road bikes.

I started hankering for a 531 lugged frame, preferably from the Brum/ Black Country area, and was delighted to find this: an early eighties John Perks - 531db frame & forks, Prugnat S4 lugs, Vagner DP fork crown. From the little I managed to find out, this was most likely been built by Knight Cycles of Wolverhampton or one of the Dawes framebuilders at that time. It is too early to have been an Autostrada or Andy Perks built frame.

When I got it, there was sadly a lot of rust competing with the faded ruby red paint. Shotblasting and a new finish felt the best option.

My first idea was to have the rear triangle sprung to 130mm for 10 speed Campagnolo gearing (that's what I knew!). I had a set of ergolevers that I fitted, and found that the braking power of the centrepulls increased to a decent level, even with the decades old original Kool Stop pads. I tried out the existing gearing, finding it nostalgic & fun returning to downtube levers and a 5 speed block.

...and that's where this bike is currently stuck :facepalm:

Most of the original equipment has been kept: Weinmann centrepulls (stamped 7.83), Suntour (excellent!) gearing; Power levers, Cyclone II front derailleur and an ARX long cage rear derailleur. The 5 speed Perfect freewheel is 14 to a dinner plate 34. A SR custom chainset is interesting; a 36/50 double.

The touring wheels are 27" 36 spoked Weinmanns with Mailliard hubs (stamped 82). They are anchors, and I reckon the frame deserves, and would be transformed with, a light wheelset.