Mangizmos "Rant Of The Day"

Mangizmo

Raleigh Fan
Fistly I must say that I have no desire to start arguments or bickering with this thread, its light hearted and tongue in cheek and aimed at prompting discussion, this is after all "Retrobike", but I just see so many trends in modern cycling that are pure expensive marketing gimmicks and new riders can be forgiven for being sucked in by the hype, after all when you start out in a new sport, you have nothing to reference and will be easily influenced by what appears to be the latest and greatest, it must be better because its new right ?

So my background is that I started cycling way back with the North Birmingham section of the Cyclists Touring Club way back in the 1980s (I am 61 now). We were all pretty skint but all covered vast distances on a regular basis, youth hosteling, camping, touring, events like "the 240" where we would cycle 240 miles non stop throughout a whole day and night, mudguards and a carrier were mandatory as it was a "touring event" and I have ridden a bike ever since, just recently I have more time on my hands and have become very enthusiastic again and so after a long period of ignoring what was on the market, I have been looking at whats "new and cool", and I am not impressed.
Today I will start with "Gravel bikes" , I visited my local bike shop yesterday and had my first chance to take a proper look at a £9000 "gravel bike", there were others that were over £11,000 and I am staggered that there is even a market for such bikes. All I saw was multiple reasons why I wouldnt want one, they include the following.