DAMAGED kona explosif....is it worth anything? NOW WITH PICS

konaben82

Gold Trader
Feedback
View
I have an old 1998 kona explosif in my cellar, (well just the frame) I have owned it from new and it cost me a small fortune back in 1998, i think it was £449 or something along those lines.....anyway, I stopped riding around 2000, I discovered women and beer! basically the bike was left to rot in the shed, over time I sold off a few parts etc so it was sort of kicking around as mainly just a frame, the shed had a leak in it and the poor old kona got a bit discoloured, covered in cobwebs....

Anyway, I started riding again early 2007 and deceided to go and dig the old explosif out, since then the shed had filled up with various other crap it it was kind of buried, I dug it out, gave it a good clean and then it sat under my bed for 3 years as I just went out and bought a newer kona cindercone on credit, after getting annoyed with the crappy disc brakes seizing up and the heavy suspension I decided to ebay it and then I discovered this website and all of a sudden had a massive thing for old bikes again! I took the explosif down to the powder coaters and got him done in black, made the new decals myself at work and started buying decent parts, then I found out that one of the chain stays seems to have been squished at some point - GUTTED! this meant that the back wheel wouldnt sit in the frame properly....maybe something heavy had been put in the shed and on the frame

now, it has been sat here unbuilt but looking nice for ages and it either needs to be repaired or sold - the question is, is it repairable? or is it worth anything? it just seems a massive shame to throw it in the skip when I have paid to get it painted.....

I'm scooting round on a 97 fire mountain now with all the parts which I bought

Picture009-3.jpg

Picture008-4.jpg

Picture007-4.jpg

Picture006-4.jpg

Picture005-4.jpg

Picture004-5.jpg

Picture002-4.jpg

Picture001-4.jpg