AMP research brake caliper

Dougamts

Retro Newbie
Hi I am new to The forum and this is my first time using a blog site so if I'm doing it wrong I apologize. My question is there somebody selling AMP research b4 disc brake conversion kits on ebay I would like to get a hold of him because I just missed out on a sale and would like to know if he is going to be making some more soon. Thank you

nope - right forum, right way ... now let's see if you get some cogent answers ... (ps: welcome!)

https://www.retrobike.co.uk/threads/amp-disc-brake-conversion-kits-available.428101/

Bear in mind that the forks are not made for the loadings of current disc brake standards and rotor diameters, there are problems with modern rotor clearance at the chainstay pivot bolt. You will also need to change out your hubs too, as they are not compatible with post year 2000 brakes.

If you go ahead, definitely no rotors bigger than 160mm, preferably 140mm. The originals are 133mm rear and 163.5 front, with 25 yr old cable actuated caliper technology.

On the plus side, your original, good condition brake calipers and hubs as a complete set would be worth perhaps £250 to the right buyer. See Amp'oholics group on Facebook.

All the best,

Last edited:
Everything which Danson so wisely said. I am a long standing AMP owner, having used forks and frame in earnest on very demanding off road. The forks are terrifyingly flexible when used in anger off road. There’s nothing wrong with the design, they were pursuing specific goals of lightness and performance and they are IN NO WAY designed for the brake loads of current disc systems. I would service the existing brakes or - my preference - used V brakes on the front. Where are you and what will you be using the bike for?

I would say that it’s a big NO to trying to use modern large rotor discs on the forks. Rear is OK, but I would keep it as a period bike.