Sigma / Chas Roberts - 1995

MatBH5

Gold Trader
Roberts Fan
Feedback
View
Hello to the Road Forum...

I've just got my first road bike (at least since I was a teenager) and hope you don't mind me sharing. As a complete road novice, I expect I might need a bit of advice when it comes to replacement parts (immediately, perhaps the tyres).

Since getting a Roberts MTB and really liking the quality ride, I have been searching for any other Roberts. In addition, I had a crash a couple of months ago, cracked my sternum and collarbone and so now need to step up my fitness without a lot of long bumpy off-road.

So, I saw this and pushed the button without hesitation:

It's a Sigma branded bike from 1995, custom built (I'm told) for the first owner to use in races and triathalon by Chas Roberts. I've seen other references on the web to Roberts building bikes for Sigma; it has his signature on the chainstay and a frame no. consistent with Chas'.

531 Competition f&f, full Shimano 105 (8 speed version) inc. hubs, Promax E headset, Mavic MA2 rims (36h), Rolls saddle, ITM bar and stem, look pedals. Needs a good clean, it still has sticky residue from race numbers in places, and had not been ridden for 6 years.

I really don't want to risk the old tyres for too long, there are some cracks on the sidewalls. They use inner tubes. What type of tyre do I need and any recommendations?

Thanks for looking.

Attachments

• photo-2.JPG
    photo-2.JPG
    113.7 KB · Views: 735
  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    48.4 KB · Views: 734
Re:

nice bike mate, any chance a pic of the seat stay/pinch bolt detail....
tyres oo dont know for sure really, i suppose we want something thats not going to wear out really quickly and something thats going to be comfortable for our weight which for me is 96kg[thumping lardy] we dont want advice from a shop who are pushing certain brands ie [only stocking 'specialized']but im sure specialized do good tyres.