Vintage KLEIN (or not)?

Ferry

Retro Guru
So yesterday on the Dutch marketplace I found this ad for a vintage KLEIN. The title got my attention so I opened the add and was dumbstruck....not a Klein

This was one of the pictures from the add:
image0.png

So after some messages I was quick to pick this up yesterday evening. Yes, you have seen it correctly, someone welded a disc brake tab to the Marzochi Starfork (on the drive side). There appear to be no cracks in the aluminium frame. However, it is covered in oil so it needs a good clean.
I need to gather some information as I know little of Mantis or XCR EC.

I think it is the other way round. Richard Cunningham developped the Mantis XCR EC and then Nishiki used the design for their bike. However, Nishiki used square aluminum tubes for the front triangle.

That’s what I have read however I am no expert at all. I am waiting for the collective Retrobike knowledge to school me…

This frame appears to have a 1 1/4 head tube and it looks like it has had some work done to the lower part of the head tube.

That looks close to a Mantis, but probably isn´t. I can see no gussets on top or downtube. Also never heard of an XCR with other than a 1" headtube. Google "Anlen Supermontare". Anlen (or Anlun) was a manufacturer in Taiwan which made frames for a whole lot of different brands, but also under their own name. From what I could gather they were part of the Derby Cycle Group in the 90ies, as was Nishiki. My speculation: As RC was on board with Nishiki for their bolted rear triangle design this looks like it was sold "out the backdoor".

Thanks for your input. The lack of gussets at the headtube had me wondering aswell.

I have seen another XCR EC with a 1 1/4” headtube, I believe it is also on Retrobike. I will try to find the topic.

I will try to get the serial number from the bottom bracket and see if this clarifies things.