Sunn Tox 1998 upgrade advise

silas68

Retro Newbie
Need some advise. I'm a novice when it comes to bike upgrades, so excuse my ignorance. Recently purchased a Sunn Tox 1998. I had the Tonic first time around when they were released in 98. Fell in love with the brand. Decided to plunge back into local forest trail riding when the Tox came up for sale locally. The bike is fairly stock original and decent condition. Want some ideas on what to pimp up without compromising the original look. I get it's about personal preferences. So interested in current trends/wisdom from the community. Would appreciate some ideas of how to make this an improved ride and head turner. The Tox is bottom of the range when released, but still has some decent components to offer a fun ride. I need advise on sus forks. Should I or shouldn't I? Just missed out on a Obsys carbon purchase. But thinking I need something that's easily serviceable. Should I go new or vintage to the era, or hold out for an Obsys. I have been looking at something like a Pace RC36 – easily serviced?. The look is very close to an Obsys. I don't need high performance for my kind of riding. I need short travel, right? Also, what's the opinion on upgrading to period Deore or XT on such a cheap frame? Also, does anyone have experience of aftermarket decals for this era – the bubble stickers? How close to the original are they? Worth the spend? Seen replacements available on a French site. Quite a lot to chew over. Any advise welcomed.

Spec:
Gripshift 400 (upgrade to higher or change to thumb shift?)
Front der: Acera X (upgrade to STX RC to match rear?)
Rear der: 7 speed STX RC (gets good reviews here - stick with it?)
Brake levers: Rudd (would like to upgrade to Avid SD)
Brakes: Shimano (would like to upgrade to Avid Supreme)
Seatpost: generic no brand. (Am looking for original Rudd post in black or pimp up to Syncros?)
Crankset: Suntour xr17 (can you upgrade to a 1x on this frame)