Maintenance for 1993 GT Talera bikes

FastFourier

Retro Newbie
First of all, a HUGE thank you to this community. You've been such a great resource during the search for a bike. I'm a relative newbie, so I'll take all the help I can get.

I picked these two bikes up last week. Using the catalogue archive, I was able to identify them as 1993 GT Talera All Terra bikes in Blue Marble and Teal Pearl.

They have all of the original components in near mint condition. Everything works. Stickers are in great shape, including the sticker from the bike shop they were purchased from. These bikes look like they were ridden for a few months in '93, then stored in a climate-controlled space for 27 years. I've only ridden them a few times, but I already love them. The rapid-fire trigger shifters are a dream. I'm willing to learn and put in the work to keep these bikes in great shape.

A couple of questions -

• To my untrained eye, they're perfect... but they're nearly 30 years old. How can I tell what needs to be repaired or replaced?

Since everything is working, I'd love to keep all of the original components in tip top shape. Is that a realistic goal? If so, is there anything I can do in terms of maintenance to prolong the life?

One sticker on the bike references a user manual. Any ideas about where I might find a copy? I know it's wishful thinking, but hey I figured I'd ask!

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 1.07.52 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 1.07.52 PM.png
    322.1 KB · Views: 140
  • Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 1.08.01 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 1.08.01 PM.png
    334 KB · Views: 138
  • Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 1.08.21 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 1.08.21 PM.png
    245.2 KB · Views: 137
Wow, timewarp bikes!