lego vw barn doors & others.

redfern1950s

Retro Guru
Hi,
Thought i would share some photo's of what i do in my spare time..

Im an artist/model maker by trade, and like so many of us, ive enjoyed lego since child hood..., and at nearly 48 years old, i still love it :D

I refuse to grow up :D

Any way, on with it..., I had been toying with this idea for a while, and not being too impressed with the one offered by LEGO them selves, thought i should make one my self..

After owning and restoring the real things for many years ( sold my beloved split screen pick up last year ), i know every detail of them for every year they where made...
My preference with these goes with the very early ones : known in the scene as the 'barndoor'.

Starting with the front panel, just messing around to start with..., i managed to get the design right for what i wanted, with the first attempt.... Knowing i didnt have all the lego shapes and colours needed, i pressed on... with in one week i had the basic shape and structure.
This first one for obvious reasons was a single cab pick up, in red and black, couldnt make it in green to match my real one.
Although not perect, i knew i had some refining to do......

So begins the search in finding the pieces required from as far away as argentina & australia via the interweb..
I soon had the contacts needed to supply me with the individual lego pieces needed, including a guy who can custom 'chrome plate' the lego bricks for me......,not cheap though, but so worth it.
Every model is as close as possible to the real thing, ( no working steering at the moment ) from its chassis with working suspension to the interiors..., even the pick ups and crew cabs that have a petrol filler cap on the body all have tubes leading from the filler to the petrol tanks !!!
Some of the vans are customized, having porsche engines and some having the front arches tubbed to take lower suspension...