It is ... it isn't ... it is ... an Sbike!

kingoffootball

Retrobike Rider
Gold Trader
Feedback
View
DSC_1402.JPG

I'm not very good at not buying anymore bikes.

Firstly, massive thanks to Xavier (Raging_Bulls) for being a goldmine of knowledge about Sbikes. I spent all week pestering him for information about them before going to see this one today. I'd almost convinced myself against buying it, but I was really intrigued about how they ride and after a quick spin and chatting with the seller I was sold, both based on the feel of the bike and its apparently rarity - I do like something unusual.

I believe it's a 1993 - shimano date codes on the brakes are 1992 and on the cranks 1993, both of which are the Altus A10 it was originally fitted with.

Plenty more information to come.

The first thing I noticed when I found this listed on Ebay was that it was wearing 700c wheels - the photos weren't great, but at least it was clear enough that the wheels were that size and the clearance showed the frame was made for 700c wheels. I had a vague recollection I'd read something here about non-26" Sbikes, so began searching.

The first thing I read/relearnt was that the Sbike Daytona 700c had .... 26" wheels, mentioned here:

Was that what I was remembering? My search skills let me down here, so I tapped into Xavier's extensive knowledge: Yes, previous 700c/28" wheeled Sbikes have been seen on the forum:
but only aluminium framed ones.

Working on the basis that importing/exporting bikes from the UK is a nightmare at the moment, I took the risk of sharing the auction and Xavier confirmed it looked like a steel 700c wheel size Sbike, but with some notable differences from other steel (500 series) Sbike frames ...