Fixing a Victorian

It might just be the perspective, but it looks to me like that brake block could do with a bit of toe-in.
You’re right on with that observation but they came like that and they are made of robust steel. I could take them off and try to bend the brake arms right on the fork but they work as is and the squeal lets people know that a jalopy is about to crash into them. They might wear in a little better once the cork surface has turned to charcoal and they fit flatter. Anyway, I’m ecstatic that I now have them, in any degree of working order.

Just loving a thread like this. Evolving. Questioning. Think I will eventually reply to Tsundare Darwin / IQ post which puts some interesting angles on things, I'm into one week being cooked up indoors due to an hideous heat wave so have applied "everything with moderation including moderation" for some days now and subsequently can contribute with my usual drivel semi intelligent blurb.

Years ago when I was a student, a Professor said "It's only engineers and artists that change the world". I thought this was a profound statement back then, and still think it profound now. With maturity though, I will add philosophers to the list. Politicians still don't make the grade for me.

Can I also nominate Retrobikers for this? OK maybe not the whole world, but at least the changes we make seem to improve the place. I will concede though that politicians do in fact change the world, just in an Einsteinian relativity kind of way inverse to the preceding.

Perhaps we could amend the statement to "only engineers, philosophers and artists improve the world"?

Also, I'm losing an entire rainy afternoon to reading this thread & it's accompanying Victorian-era rabbitholes (as perhaps evidenced by the above string of replies when I just couldn't contain my enthusiasm for having learned new things. Thanks all, for the welcome distraction!