Mystery Ribble/Cinelli Bike Frame

monkey6464

Retro Newbie
Hi there. Im new to this so please be kind.

So ive just bought an old skool Ribble that takes me back to my youth. I haven't collected the bike yet but have uploaded some pics. Im trying to find out some info about it as im not sure of the steel used in i'ts construction as it has no frame stickers. It also has some Cinelli extras which im not sure were a standard thing with Ribble. The shop I bought it from had a regular who new a bit about Ribble bikes, as I bought it from Kirkham, Lancashire where the bikes were built for many years, and he suggested it looked like a Terry Dolan built bike and probably a Columbus frame. The other thing is it has a race plate hanger on the frame which I haven't seen before. If anybody has any info that might help I would really appreciate it. My intention is to ride it over the summer with a view to restoring over the winter.

Cheers

Monkey6464

Attachments

• Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 16.00.32.png
    Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 16.00.32.png
    79.2 KB · Views: 2,282
  • Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 16.00.24.png
    Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 16.00.24.png
    105.9 KB · Views: 2,284
  • Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 16.00.15.png
    Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 16.00.15.png
    122.4 KB · Views: 2,282
  • Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 15.59.58.png
    Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 15.59.58.png
    113.6 KB · Views: 2,281
  • Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 15.59.02.png
    Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 15.59.02.png
    108.8 KB · Views: 2,283
  • Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 15.58.44.png
    Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 15.58.44.png
    114.3 KB · Views: 2,282
Re:

I grew up in Preston & used to ogle the bikes when the shop was on Watery Lane. All the frames hung on the wall in the shop, all I could afford was the sachets of Isostar. Parents wouldn't entertain buying me one given the price.