Looking for fork help/advice.

mozdog

Dirt Disciple
Hi guys, i'm fairly new to modifying bikes and I've just bought this 97/98(?) Specialized Rockhopper FS but want to put some rigid forks and more comfortable bars so I wanted to come here first and make sure I know what to buy and do so I don't mess it up and/or waste loads of money.

From what I gather, I'll need a set of threadless 1 1/8th forks like these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/266717644938

For handlebars I want to put on some Wald 828 / 898 (these are the same bar just in different width) but I'm not entirely sure how to tell which one I need and if I'll need a new stem also.

Not sure how easy it is to assist me without actually seeing the bike or having certain measurements to hand but any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers in advance.

Attachments

• s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    489.2 KB · Views: 36
When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
Yup

you will need a threadless fork with a 1 1/8th diameter and enough steerer to fit your headtube, looking at the bike in the picture I would guess the specialized is a 19" with quite alot of stack height.

Bars "should" fit assuming they are 25.4

Great bike for a start 😎, I'd change the bars first, you may need to adjust the stem length/height/rise for comfort and feel. Ride it and see how it feels. Then change the forks, Project 2"s are are a great fork and come up regularly. If the bike bike handles OK then stick with a later, I think 420mm? Axle to crown length. If you want to quicken the steering then find an older 390mm... Ish? Fork.
A longer stem usually slows the steering but considering the bars chosen it would be the further your hands are fore/aft from the headset then slower steering, closer to the headset axis then quicker steering.