I need to save this Orange Vitamin T

MSYT

Retro Guru
Ok so I took a gamble.

On eBay I saw a Carrera (Subway) being advertised for repairs with an Orange frame too. Neither had any real details except for the Subway being advertised as a broken hanger and the Vitamin T being advertised with a stuck seatpost. Shite pictures. Shite description but when does the opportunity to potentially grab a Vitamin T come up?

So I played it stupid. Kept bidding the auction up to find the max bid and ended up sniping the pair for £62. No worries… I can repair the Subway and sell it for that…

But no I can’t. I tried to put the rear wheel in and found the rear dropouts are now 100mm 😂 So that’s a parts bike!

Anyway the diamond in the rough. The seldom seen Orange Vitamin T

Yeah.. it’s cracked. As I suspected it might be. It’s cracked on the drive side of the seat tube, through the weld and in to the seat stay.

I’ve no experience in titanium repair so… is this something repairable? It’s my size so I’d love to save it and ride it!

More pics to follow tomorrow IMG_4820.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_4818.jpeg
    IMG_4818.jpeg
    584.4 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_4819.jpeg
    IMG_4819.jpeg
    421.8 KB · Views: 22
My second biggest retro regret was selling my mint Vitamin T.😩

Looks naughty does that but certainly worth investigating, think I 'might' have seem similar fixed in the past?

If you decide against let me know.🤭

My second biggest retro regret was selling my mint Vitamin T.😩

Looks naughty does that but certainly worth investigating, think I 'might' have seem similar fixed in the past?

If you decide against let me know.🤭

It’s feel so light 🥲 I was about to build a P7 but saw this and my eyes lit up.

I knew the risk of a cracked frame but I’m still so gutted.

I guess I have to get that seatpost out first and inspect the rest!

Check the other welds as well, especially around the BB. Lovely frames though, hope it can be saved but think it may be a wall hangar.