How should I get a motorbike licence?

doctor-bond

Feature Bike
I’ve always fancied a 70s or 80s MX/enduro bike - say a DT 175; what’s the best way to get a licence for an old fool? Googling the various options is tediously baffling - A1, A2, CBT, cc, Kw ….

is it possible for a long time driving-licence holder to run an old, low-power bike with minimal training/testing, or better to go the whole hog and get a big bike licence?

Gratuitous, er, motorbike pic to illustrate:

7D74390C-2892-4755-9CF6-4C7909BC6E52.jpeg

I was an instructor and ATB (bike school) owner between 2004 and 2014. I taught: CBT, A1, A2, DAS for category A, ERS - DVSA post test / advanced riding, IAM, Rospa, and occasionally on trackdays at Snetterton, Brands and Silverstone.

In 2014 I turned to the dark side and became a DVSA Examiner - meaning i went from poacher to gamekeeper. I changed career in August 22 and completely moved away from the motorcycle industry, after being a professional motorcyclist in one way or another since the mid-90's, but I think most of my knowledge is still relevant.

In the UK: The process is the same for all of the full licences.

If you want to 'dip your toe' get yourself a CBT and razz around on a 125cc for a few months and see if you get on with it. It will be your cheapest option...but make sure you ride. Make excuses to go for a ride, not excuses why you can't!

Without splitting hairs, obtaining a full licence will be a similar cost no matter which category you take, unless you provide your own bike. In which case it's makes more financial sense to go straight in and do DAS (big bike) - if you can handle the weight and size of the bike. After you pass you can ride whatever you want.

If you want to understand a bit more about the process of getting a licence then below is a repost of something I put on the 'Show us your motorbike ' thread a few months back.
There are three tests and a CBT.

The process is the same for all 3 licence categories: A1, A2 and A.