Evans Cycles

mdvineng

Senior Retro Guru
Feedback
View
Just had a neighbour bring a three day old bike, bought with a ride to work scheme at the Uni. Bike is from Evans Cycles.
Problem was a wobbly crank, which turned out to be loose cups either side of the BB. Also found the crank arm bolts to be finger tight only. So I stripped and cleaned the axle and bearings, re lube and fit same and adjust. Torque crank arm bolts etc. Front axle was also loose🤦🏻
And they kept it a day to do a PDI before letting her pick it up from them.
Another CBA technician.

You have to assume all new bikes are totally unsafe, that's why a shop must perform a PDI check. The PDI from this Evans store is clearly inadequate. Hardly a surprise tbh.
My local shop's workshop skills are pretty awful. I worked in the trade as a mechanic for almost 10 years, at a shop that had very high standards.

A lot of bigger/mass market chains don't want to invest in decent mechanics or much training in my experience, they'd rather pay someone minimum wage to work around school/college/uni, as a result it's a mixed bag, you get some people who have been tinkering with bikes since an early age who will probably go on to be the decent bike mechanics and bike shops owners of the future, and then you get others who havent got any interest and generally dont give a toss. The latter bunch are just ticking a sheet, they dont appreciate the safety aspect. If it comes back they will tighten it up, if it doesnt, not their problem. They'll be gone in a few months and working in Tesco instead.