Ergopower adjustment.

Rapparee87

Retro Guru
Just wondering, I'm changing cables on my Ergopower, late 90s Record 8sp version, Brifters are the 9 speed version (pointy tops), but cassette is 8sp. I only use 4 or 5 on the cassette, the mid ones on it, so that's not an issue for me. The downtube cable adjusters, and the barrel screw thingy (I'm not technically minded) on the derailleur. Should these be in a certain position before putting the cables on to maximise any adjustment that may be needed? Both derailleurs are also Record late 90s. Thanks.

Last edited:
You'll never get it working properly. The 9 speed lever pulls the correct amount of cable each click to move the derailleur one cog on a 9 speed cassette. A 9 speed cassette isn't just an 8 with an added cog, each space is narrower than on the 8

i'd wind the adjusters almost all the way in, this means that you have almost the max adjustment on the cable but also the ability to wind some tension off if you have pulled the cable too tight when you clamp it.

but . . . as Pigman says the indexing will never work perfectly, the best thing to do is have the RH lever serviced and have an 8 speed ratchet fitted, i've never done one but i know Gary at GA cycles in southampton can do that, no clue of the cost though.

I'd start with the middle position on all adjusters. Modern cables do not stretch very much, IME.

Adjust the system to work on the middle cogs. Like the others said, expect shifting to be less precise once you get to the outer cogs.

i'd wind the adjusters almost all the way in, this means that you have almost the max adjustment on the cable but also the ability to wind some tension off if you have pulled the cable too tight when you clamp it.

but . . . as Pigman says the indexing will never work perfectly, the best thing to do is have the RH lever serviced and have an 8 speed ratchet fitted, i've never done one but i know Gary at GA cycles in southampton can do that, no clue of the cost though.