Dawes Super Galaxy - Early 1980s 531 - Questions and upgrades to early 1990s spec

Steel_My_Heart

Retro Newbie
Hi all. Picked up this old Galaxy (Super Galaxy?) the other day for £120. Seems like a bit of a bargain with the condition of the frame, and the XT parts. Thought the frame set was an early 1990s model from the decals and seller's photos, but after studying some old Dawes catalogues online, it appears to be a repainted early 1980s (maybe 1983?). Has the "531 renovated" sticker on the seat tube. The paint looks beautiful though with the sparkly bits inside, silver detailing around the lugs, and the decals all look original too. As far as I can tell it was repainted in the early 1990s and fitted with updated parts then, as that is when these XT and 105 bits hail from.

I am not an expert on these bikes so have a few questions before I start purchasing parts to upgrade it. Any advice would be very helpful:
  • Could the repaint have been done by Dawes? Did they offer this service in the late 1980s / early 1990s?
  • What purpose does the mounting point on the side of the right hand fork serve? The other side has no mount. Front light maybe?
  • The early 1980s Galaxies came with a dual ring crankset - this Stronglight might be the original one. I would prefer to upgrade it, and the front Deore XT mech is apparently meant for triple rings (I checked the model number on the back of it). Can I change to a triple crankset without any chain alignment issues if the frame was meant for dual rings? And would a 48t or 46t big ring both work with this front mech?
  • The front wheel is 700c / 622, but the rear is 630, so I need to get a matching rear. Probably the early 1990s spec, with DX hubs and Alesa 917 rims. Anything I need to watch out for with rear spacing? Apparently the rear DX hub came in 130 and 135mm versions. Yet to remove the rear wheel and measure this frame's rear spacing.