Colnago Super 1977 project

jordic1968

Retro Guru
Hi
I'm starting a new project. I bought a "new bike", got tempted because it was my size, and just stripped it all down and cleaned the frame. Only period correct left was the headset ;) rest were really modern components but I already have some campy parts waiting for a project like this so let's go!

Here the frame and headset. Not in super - top condition but not bad either. Removed little bit of rust and protected with spray wax. Wheel set is not the right one. I have a spare set but resulting to be 130mm rear spaced so will have to source for the right ones... Anyone interested to flip let me know !

Frame looks to be from 1977 (I'm not an expert on Colnago's, so I'd appreciate any comment on that) as brake nuts are not recessed. There is a portacatena hole.

IMG_20230705_190153.jpg

Here the parts I've managed to collect. Some I already had from years ago (like the SR pat 77 rear derailleur :) others just bought now like the saddle , handlebar and the bottom bracket.

When I bought the bike I though it dated from 1978-79, so I purchased the wider 115 mm bottom bracket ( +1 - +1.5 ) that comes with the 78 onwards FD with the lip, but if the frame is from 1977, I guess the correct FD is the one without lip (this one I had lucky me) but I should purchase the 113 mm spindle. Another part to source....

IMG_20230706_121024_1.jpg

Crankset and brake levers are from the mid 80's but that will work to me. Not pretty sure about this newer cranks with the 113 mm spindle but we'll see!!!

I have a pair of large flange Record on Mavic red label sprint rims complete with tubs . Stunning condition.
£180 pair. Free wheel included.
Circa mid 70s