26 ain't dead - but darned difficult to get intensive care

2manyoranges

Senior Retro Guru
Feedback
View
...I love my 26 inch bikes....managed to hunt down some 30mm internal rims (CR came through) but 35mm internal now totally gone...and now tyres are going short...plenty of 2.0 and 2.35 but NOTHING in 2.6....true retrorubber revival now seems to be happening - great to see much older tyres now coming through new...but a big gap opening up on quality rims and rubber which were available only a short time ago...

Re:

I work in the bike trade and can tell you that the issues with availability stem largely from the Covid pandemic more than anything else.
This year is going to be very difficult for getting hold of new parts due to the various supply, manufacture and distribution problems that are very real at present.
The manufacture and distribution of niche products and older designs will be the first to be sacrificed.
It won't always be like this but I've had information from my suppliers suggesting lead times on some products of up to 700 days.

It's going to be a difficult year.

Re:

….very helpful...particularly that insight re 'first to be sacrificed...' - hopefully the supply of 'niche26' will start again...but 'first out, last in' might apply and it may be last to revive...I sure hope it does...very bad for the planet to have to replace my perfectly capable 26ers...

Now I'm glad I spent the last 20 years storing bike things away muttering to myself, "That might come in handy one day."

I went to H alfords the other day to collect a HRM strap and apart from a few oddities, they had not a single bike left in the building. Components were few and far between as well.