Saracen Race Elite build.

dendy

98+ BoTM Winner
Feedback
View
I am going to start a thread off for my little build. Nowt special and it is my first build so go easy on me :)

I sourced this old E-stay Saracen sometime last week. In okish condition apart from a stuck seat post and I new it was a bit of a risk but was reasonably confident that I could get the post to budge..

I posted a pic of the bike on the Saracen thread and found it was a 93 bike based on a 92 frame set and therefore a bit of a combination of components. The frame is dear little 15.5" Tange e-stay, exactly like the 92 Kili Racer. The crank, gears and brakes are the beastly Altus A20. The hubs and front derailleur are black lx from the 93 M-560 set.

forumsaracen.jpg

Back to the seat post... For 3 days I tried all the tricks and couldn't shift it. I thought about cutting it off and chopping through the section to see if it would collapse inwards. I also thought about the last resort of heat treatment. Neither of these I was completely happy with. I decided that the saddle was knackered anyway so I proceeded to dismantle it with a saw :LOL: to reveal the sub frame then I plugged in the welder...

saracen030.jpg

I found a decent length of 40 x 10 flat solid and welded it to the subframe.

saracen026.jpg

My lady was called for some extra muscle and using the extra leverage of the bar within 10 mins I heard a crack. A lot of pressure was being applied so I initially I thought the worse but carried on from side to side until another crack was heard. This time I could see the post was freeing up and eventually I managed to pull it out..

saracen031.jpg

saracen034.jpg