Surprise 4%

shedobits

Kona Fan
Feedback
View
I've been thinking about posting this for a week or so, [OK calming down].

Recently I agreed to pay the full asking price including postage on an item advertised here on Retrobike. I gave the seller my delivery address and asked for his PP addy. He replied by return and then asked for an extra 4% or wanted the money to be sent gift.

OK it was still a bargain at a fraction of the new price even with the extra £1.68 he wanted.

The result is that the item is still for sale and I'm still looking, both of us have lost out really.

I've been buying and selling on here for 5 years and have noticed a trend recently of more sellers asking for gift or fees [I've just seen an add on here asking for 5%]. Now it's up to me if I pursue the sale but I wouldn't pay an extra surprise fee if I was buying in a shop.

Am I being a tight wad or not?

OK rant over.

No, it's really annoying.

Rules (or guidelines) say no gift.

The seller should include all the costs they want, including postage and set a price - simple.

One forum I'm on will just lock any ad that doesn't comply with the total price rule.

Don't really understand the whole concept of the 4%.
Everyone who I have dealt with has just given me the full price for the product and postage .

If you pay gift, it adds the cost on (I think it's closer to 2%) and the buyer pays (or is given the option of who pays), if you pay goods, the seller pays.

But you only get protection with goods.

Re:

I list my items for sale as Paypal gift or buyer pays the Paypal fees for a goods payment. I know it isn't recommended but I would never insist someone paid by gift. It gives the people who trust me (or who want to take a risk) the option of saving a few quid (or a few pence depending on value). It seems to be more the norm rather than the exception from what I see on here.

fagin":bieuiv0u said: