Paint Job?

Mr Weirdo

Retro Guru
Hello...

At the bottom of the headset tube the paint has flaked off, about the size of a 50p piece.

Now I don't expect a perfect finish but any suggestions on how I could repaint that area of the tube would be welcome.

Or maybe something a bit 'custom' as trying to match the existing red paints finish would be tricky?

Many thanks...

If it’s the size of a 50p then I think nail varnish won’t get it looking great.

Now I’m no expert, so don’t take my word for it. But I think the best way to do it is to key the area with, say, 600grit sandpaper. And you just want to scratch the surface, not remove it. Once you’ve evenly keyed the surface and feathered out the edges, then and a light coat of primer, just to help it stick to the metal. Then evenly spray x colour spray paint, whilst trying to achieve a smooth transition. If you are worried about the transition, then get a thin piece of paper, fold it in half and stick it to headtube. Repeat that all round the damage and then, because the paper will have a curved edge, the paint will find it harder to get underneath, thus creating a sort of feather affect.

It works on cars but for bikes it’s a bit more difficult.

If it’s the size of a 50p then I think nail varnish won’t get it looking great.
because the paper will have a curved edge, the paint will find it harder to get underneath, thus creating a sort of feather affect.

It works on cars but for bikes it’s a bit more difficult.

Spoil sport. :p but yer ok, at that size getting it look good with nail varnish isn't the best solution (good way to get a colour match though).

right, im not on my phone so serious answer.