fork advice for a 2002 Klein Attitude Race

JAC RUSSELL

Retro Newbie
Good evening Ladies and Gents, my first post so be gentle!

I'm new to the retro bike scene but was reminiscing about my favourite bike in my late tens. Back in the mid 90's I had a Trek 930 in green and purple fade. I loved that bike but alas as with most things, you don't see the value once they start to become dated and less fashionable. I must have sold, or swapped it for something, I cant remember.
Anyway this got me looking for another one that I could build to a modern spec and use for a bit of fun during these weird times. During my search I stumbled across a few Klein mountain bikes and spent some time researching the brand. I was instantly drawn to the early models with the fluorescent fade paint. So, as you do, I started looking for one!! and blow me they fetch some serious money, I had no idea, completely naive. Sadly the cost of an early model is way beyond my budget so my plan is to buy an affordable version and built a resto mod or replica to my own spec's but using a later frame.

I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction regarding rigid forks for a 2002 Klein Attitude Race with V-brakes, and possibly where I can source them. This will be my first bike build so I'm completely in the dark when it comes to things like thread sizes, seat post dimentions and pretty much everything else really!!

Russ :D

Re:

Hmm not an easy one. 2002....so not the original box section forks, it would have to be the big section Klein forks in matching colours. The earlier low end Kleins were also supplied with chromes Spinner forks. Which looked weird. But that's how they were.

And I think the chance of you getting some of the original Klein forks is slightly more likely than the neighbour's cat being hit by a meteorite in the next ten minutes. So....the classic choice would be some RockShox or Marzocchi forks sprayed in the same colour as the frame....