1991 Rocky Mountain Fusion: Where to begin?

NB1984

Retro Newbie
Good evening all,

I recently acquired a 1991 Rocky Mountain Fusion. All original. It's been sitting in the first owners garage for years. I actually got the bill of sale from 1992! Anyhow, I've never done a restoration before... And I'm not all that familiar with bike maintenance in general. I'm looking for some direction on where to start. Here's what I'm noticing so far:

Rear wheel is not true.
Rear tire sidewall is all chewed up... Should probably replace both tires, right?
Rear derailleur works surprisingly well, although the down shift lever is a little stiff.
Front derailleur moves the chain into position, but then swings back when pressure is taken off the lever, thus moving the chain back to the smallest ring.
Front brake lever work well, front brake works well.
Rear brake lever is stiff, and rear brakes are quite weak.

Thanks in advance for the tips!

Attachments

• PXL_20210505_025923272.jpg
    PXL_20210505_025923272.jpg
    553.8 KB · Views: 29
YouTube as a start. Look for red_dread, he's a helpful start, as for more specific parts etc plenty of knowledge on here

Rocky Mountain - coool. Good call domo, Youtube is a good source of practical advice. You don't have to take it completely apart which means you won't need (at least) a crank-removing tool (although they're not expensive).
It looks like you have some under-bar STI shifters. Search for 'STI cleaning' - that might bring some results of what can be done to un-gum the insides which will improve shifting. I've read that you need a physics degree to take them apart and put them together! I think I read they can be flushed-out with GT85 - as I say try a search.
By taking the rear wheel to your local independent bike shop for it to be trued you'll get to know them and they can provide new cables.