1990 Paul Donohue 531 Custom Fillet Brazed & Custom Paint

Heavy

Retro Guru
Hi,

My wife doesn't seem too impressed with the idea of swapping her modern bike for this gorgeous handmade, fillet brazed custom, Reynolds 531, 1990 Paul Donohue mountain bike, so I need to see what it might be worth to decide if I tidy it up myself and have pretty garage ornament, or let it go to a new, appreciative owner.

I have no idea at all on how to value a bike like this, and the usual research tools have not helped, so I hope you lot might be able to assist. I've gone into more detail than might be expected because it's not an off-the-peg bike.

I'm not an expert on Paul Donahue bikes so forgive & correct me if I'm wrong on anything. One of the few things I know is that Paul made some of the early Orange Formula frames.

From what I can see the bike looks like this:

A one-off custom made and custom painted frame, forks and stem
16" Centre to top of top tube
18" Centre to top of seat tube
Serial number shows it dating to 1990
Reynolds 531 frame including stays, with Oria seat tube
Fillet brazed
PD logo cut out detail at the top of seat tube
Reynolds 531 forks
Reynolds 531 stem (apparently quite rare)
Custom painted by Paul Donohue himself - pink / blue / pink fade on each side with white in the middle. This is in very good shape with some chain-suck being the main area to be addressed. The pink looks baby-pink on the pictures but is much more vibrant than that - closer to dayglo-pink.
Components are mostly Exage Trail with XT headset. It has Campag crank caps - not sure if its a Campag BB.
Rims are Mavic Oxygen M6
Tyres are Specialized Ground Control in very good condition.

The bike seems to have been stored in a very dry place and there are no signs of significant rust. The non-driveside chain-stay has some signs of being flattened by shoes, but it's not particularly obvious. I've done nothing at all to the bike - its as found, complete with dust.