Roof mount bike racks for retro bikes

ishaw

Gold Trader
GT Fan
Feedback
View
I'm going to center parcs with the family in a couple of weeks and I have finally got some roof bars for my car.

I'm looking to take a retro steed with me but want to make sure it's safe and secure on the roof of the car.

I've zero experience or knowledge in this area as I normally either ride locally or put a bike in the boot, but with all the luggage needed for a week away, a bike (well two) simply isn't going to fit.

I'm after recommendations for a good quality yet affordable roof mounted bike carrier that is going to secure one of my coveted old bikes safely and secure stop my focus estate. No idea if it makes a difference but the roof bars I've just bought are factory ford items, aero and fairly wide width wise.

Any suggestions on a good pair of roof mounted bike racks.

Also, how does one get a bike on the roof of a car? Sounds silly, but thought it worth asking.

Re:

I have Thule 532 as they were the later style of my old ones. They are about £40 to £50 off flea bay new, are lockable and easy to fit.
As for how to put the bike on, i grab the bike by the seat stay and fork leg and lift it on to the rail then roll it forward, lift the bar and then clamp it. once thats done its just a case of strapping the wheels.

Hope that helps.

For the money in my opinion, you can't go wrong with the Thule 591 as found on this link HERE
I've been using a pair of them for a few years on my V6 vectra estate and they stay put at speed, on corners, and when some numpty pulls out on you too :facepalm:

Lift the bar up and you lift the bike up to stand it in the channels of the rack, the arm has an adjustable 'claw' that you tighten by dialling the wheel at the bottom of the arm and it clamps the down tube, then you strap the wheels down front and rear, and it has a key lock to lock the adjuster wheel so it cant be undone in petrol stations and such!