More Campag queries....

Meejoir

Retro Guru
Good morning people, having solved my long cage/triple chainset query I am again calling upon your expertise! I'm a newbie as far as refurbs go (2nd project) and even more so regarding Campag components.

It's relatively simple. I have a pair of 9 speed Mirage shifters (post 2001) and I am finding it incredibly difficult to pick up a reasonably priced rear mech, and finding a long cage version makes it even trickier.

My query is this, would I be able to fit a 10 speed rear mech and would it be compatible with my 9 speed shifters? Or does 9 speed mean 9 speed?

I must admit, I'm starting to curse the day these 9 speed Mirage shifters came into my life!

Thanks in advance.

I'm speaking from "theory" rather than "experience", but ten speed cassette spacing and chains are narrower than nine, so I would expect your chain would scrape the jockey wheel cage plates.

My guess is that if you changed the jockey wheels to nine speed, this would re-space the cage suitably.

As I said, this is theory but it gives you a line of enquiry...

Thanks ScillySuffolk. Just to clarify the whole set up for you.

Mirage 9 speed shifters
Veloce triple crankset 52/40/30
Veloce triple front mech

I was assuming a 9 speed veloce cassette, but would a 10 speed rear mech (say Mirage/Veloce) be compatible?

A 10-speed derailleur works fine with a 9-speed set up but to muddy the waters further you need to ensure you're not mixing pre 2001 kit with post 2001 kit as Campagnolo changed the geometry of their rear derailleurs and thus made them incompatible.