Issues with GRX brakes - anyone moved to RX4+ calipers ?

d8mok

Gold Trader
GT Fan
Feedback
View
I’ve been running GRX810 on my gravel bike for coming up to 2 years now.

It’s my favourite bike and gets used the most but has suffered bad brake contamination for the past year maybe on and off.

For some reason the brakes get contaminated every so often and it requires new pads and cleaning of the rotors. This has slowly gotten worse to the last 2-3 months where the back brake is non existent and the front is awful.

I’ve tried IPA , brake cleaner, cooking the pads , new pads , lots of heat via blowtorch , and it sorts the issue for a bit but then it comes back.

I read online that it could be the calipers leaking a small amount of fluid onto the pads and this is just a quirk of Shimano. This sounds like it could be my issue.

So to my question , has anyone used Hope RX4+ calipers mated with GRX levers ? How easy to mate them and also how well so they work. I’d be buying new Hope discs too.

Last edited:
Can't answer the question about the RX4+ calipers, but share your pain trying to fight contaminated rotors and pads for 18 months. Even looked for evidence of piston seals leaking, took ages enough for it to be enough to be evident. Drove me to the point that even though I changed brakes now I am still paranoid about rotor contamination

Thanks for response. What brakes was that on? Seems Shimano is known for it.

I’ve cleaned my brakes with IPA, put new pads and cleaned the rotors. They now work very very well. However I’ve only ridden it on my road and I’ve been here maybe 10 times with working brakes but Once I’ve ridden it, it will deteriorate again to no brakes I just know it. Water seems to make it lots worse as I guess it circulates any contamination

I went to RX4 from SRAM Force on my gravel bike due to a complete inability to stop brake squeal.