Internal gears

Imlach

98+ BoTM Winner
Feedback
View
Hey,

I've been riding singlespeed for the last 3 years and it's been a mostly enjoyable experience. But recently on longer trips I have found it a bit limiting, particular on routes where the terrain changes a lot. I have therefor been thinking of a way to maintain the simplicity and clean looks of singlespeed while having more of a range, and the conclusion was internal hub gears. Ideally a 3 speed, which would just allow me to not spin out in hilly areas which is a huge problem.

I am therefor looking for opinions on internal hub gears and how much maintenance is required. I used to use derailleurs for a long time but found that they were a hassle to maintain - is this much of an issue on internal hub gears?

Also, how do they hold up off-road? I do not ride rough but I do a lot of gravel riding and light xc.

Any recommendations?

I have a gravel bike I built up with a Sturmey Archer Kickshift hub. It works well. I have the freewheel option. Just pedal back a quarter of a turn and it switches gears. It gives you 2 gears--a low gear (direct drive) and a high gear (1.4 x direct drive). I run a 42 tooth chainring in the front and a 20 tooth cog. It's like a 42x20 (low) and 46x16 (high).

I have a gravel bike I built up with a Sturmey Archer Kickshift hub. It works well. I have the freewheel option. Just pedal back a quarter of a turn and it switches gears. It gives you 2 gears--a low gear (direct drive) and a high gear (1.4 x direct drive). I run a 42 tooth chainring in the front and a 20 tooth cog. It's like a 42x20 (low) and 46x16 (high).
Thank you for your input mate. I had heard Sturmey Archer generally produce robust hubs, so I figured that was the way to go. Anything to provide a bit of stability to my pedaling while going downhill.

Onwards to find out if anyone has a 26 wheel kicking about with a 3 gears Sturmey Archer.