Asking for help building wheels

Ugo51

Retro Guru
Hi guys,

Random request (and a bit of a long shot): I'm going to attempt building a new pair of wheels for my Peugeot.
Is there anyone in the SW London area who would be willing to help me out, in case I get stuck?
Which is quite likely, as I have never done this before.

Many thanks

P.S. suggestions to where else to post this request for help are also welcome

Cheers

Re:

I'm not in London so can't help there, but it's not that difficult, if you do all other work on your bike yourself, then it shouldn't be a problem. Find a good step by step guide, and follow it carefully. I think Sheldon has a good guide. Maybe try on a basic set of wheels, before you start building with good parts, just in case! The hardest part is the final trueing and tensioning, you can always take them to a shop to finish them off or check them over when you've finished yourself

Re:

I think I will end up doing just like you suggested.
Front wheel, which looks easier than the rear one, and I won't buy expensive parts.
Trueing does sound very tricky.
I'll give it a shot.
I have an old wheel with a damaged rim. I just need a new rim and maybe new nipples and spokes. Won't cost me much :)

Re:

This will take you to Sheldon's wheel building page which is really helpful:

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html

You can build a wheel from start to finish using it. Somewhere in it there's also a link to a book by Roger Musson which is also excellent.

Be very patient and enjoy building your wheel(s), it can be very therapeutic and you feel great when you're out riding on wheels you've built yourself. :cool: :)

Re:

I hear a lot of people saying it's a therapeutic process.
Let's wait and see about that :)
My main problem is that here in London I have very little tools, and no space to acquire much more, so I will try to do without a trueing stand (I can use the bike fork) and a dishing tool.