I want to get fit and slim again

REKIBorter

Retrobike Rider
Gold Trader
98+ BoTM Winner
Feedback
View
I used to be very fit up until 1999 when injury forced me to quit competitive riding, [raced for a local shop team, 24 hour races, orienteering events, long distance rides]. Since then I have become very unfit and about 2 stone overweight [41 years old & 15st 8lb].

My wife has bought me a cross trainer and I have set up my old Tacx mag trainer. Currently I can do about 15 minutes on the cross trainer before I have to stop. I understand about the importance of warm up before and stretching routines after excercise.

What sort of frequency of exercise / routine should I be doing to get some benefit?

I'm no expert so feel free to ignore me, but I found myself in a similar situation about 4 years ago, I had been very fit then got a high-pressure job and had kids both of which left me with no energy for cycling, I went up from 13st to 15st.

I quit the job and got a lower paid less stressful one, the kids are now old enough to be sleeping through (mostly!), so I thought about time I did something, so around this time 2004 I went on a healthy eating spree (not a diet as such, but just smaller portions, less snacks, more veg and fruit) and started exercising.

I started by running as I figured unless you put in a lot of mileage you don't lose weight cycling and also I found any weight you did lose didn't tend to be around the beer belly but rather in the legs. I ran 3 or 4 times a week for about 15mins each to start with, then building it up over 6 months to 3 times a week for 3/4 hour each. I lost in that first 6 months 2 1/2 stone. Then I got on my bike and virtually stopped running as a) I never really enjoyed it b) it was damaging my knees (probably my style!).

I would then cycle 3-4 hours a week in rides of generally 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours quite hard and maybe a 3 hour ride at the weekend at a leisurely pace.