Vitus 979 Rear derailleur dropout cracked - Any adice?

tjordan

Retro Newbie
Hi guys,

I bought a Vitus 979 and took it to my local bike shop to get it put together as it was shipped from Spain. However, the mechanic cracked the rear derailleur dropout as he was screwing it in and now i'm not too sure how best to proceed.

Does anyone know if the part is easily replaceable? Or do you think I should find a frame repairer who can have a go at fixing it?

Or alternatively I just convert it to a single speed...

What would you guys do? Any help / advice would be appreciated. I'm a bit of a novice so apologies if i've skipped out any details.

I've attached some pictures of the break. Cheers!

Attachments

• IMG_4700.jpg
    IMG_4700.jpg
    853.2 KB · Views: 438
  • IMG_4702.jpg
    IMG_4702.jpg
    743.9 KB · Views: 436
  • 16893c3edb9a488ab627bd3cc976b7719304d829.jpg
    16893c3edb9a488ab627bd3cc976b7719304d829.jpg
    202.4 KB · Views: 437
I guess I would be expecting the bike shop to fix it, or offer appropriate compensation. I suspect a frame builder would be able to fix it though.

One quick fix would be one of these:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/291654095133
although I'm not sure it'll work with near vertical drop outs like yours seem to be.

When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
Yeah I'm still waiting for a response from the shop about compensation...They tried to find an 8 speed derailleur with a mounting bracket as a fix, but couldn't find anything so I went to pick up the bike and talk to the owner about compensation but they weren't in that day. Bit of an awkward situation.

Thanks for the suggestion. Just seen this on the ebay link: "Your rear axle needs to be long enough to accommodate the thickness of the steel claw & axle fastening bolt when fitting.