Servicing an SPD Pedal

Whatleymeister

Retrobike Rider
Gold Trader
Feedback
View
Right, so I got a pair of PD-M747 pedals off of ebay for £8 delivered and, though relatively functional, they could do with a good service and overhaul. I have no experience of SPD servicing and the Park Tool website seems to suggest that several specific tools are required:

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... l-overhaul

Has anyone else serviced their SPD's? Are there any obvious pit falls to avoid?

Any help will be greatfully received ;)

Dan

Fiddly little critters, watch out for the loose ball bearings...but the only special tool required IIRC is the splined tool to unscrew the axle from the pedal body: Shimano Pt No 42A 0900
31011950.jpg

I can lend you mine. :D
The axles have L & R hand threads into the pedal body, Can't remember which way round...I'll have a look when I get home.

Exploded diagram :
PD-M747_1995.gif

You won't need the special Shimano TL-PD63 tool, just 7mm and a thin 10mm spanner, as the bearing adjustment nuts aren't recessed on the M747 axle. Soft jaws on the vice would be a good idea, so as not to damage the pedal threads (or mount the axles in a set of cranks instead).

All the best,

Excellent advice, thank you very much! I have actually had a little tinker at my desk (I collected them from the post office on the way to work!) and I can unscrew the plastic bits and remove the axles by hand! I dont see why it should be any tighter than that but, if I run into issues, I may have to borrow that tool from you! Postage would be covered for you of course, and some beer chits too should the need arise :cool:

I had also seen that diagram in another thread on here which is really useful. I thought the bearings might get a bit 'free-running'! :roll: