Gah!! Family with PC probs

IDB1

Gold Trader
Feedback
View
just because I worked in IT for 19 years, they all think I'm a bloody pc tech :evil:

Just got off the phone from my Sister who has a laptop (Windoze 7) problem..

From in between her useless prattling and Google, I gathered that she is getting a message like
Application cannot be executed. The file <random filename> is infected. Do you want to activate your antivirus software now?

Which (thank you Google) would indicate she has a rogue program running and needs to get rid..

Found numerous 'fixes' all similar to this one
http://blog.gregfiumara.com/?p=54

Any pc guru's want to chime in and confirm/deny/suggest an easier alternative for me??

she's coming round in the morning (to my house, I haven't knocked her out - yet)..

I have so few problems I'm pretty rusty at tech stuff but can usually get by.. but some pointers would be most appreciated :cool:

run antivirus software to get rid of the suspected adware?

or google the dodgy website and see if there is a program that is associated with it that can be deleted
check task manager and google anything that look suspicious to you (often helps me, not with virus', just to check whats what)

is that helpful at all? :?

obviously so much easier when your at said pc

Indeed.. that's why she's bringing laptop to me tomorrow..

Most googling seems to suggest booting in safe mode, running an offensive crap remover and rebooting..
But.. since it's (probably) a rogue prog running, I'm wondering why I can't end it, find it, uninstall it (CCleaner should help with that?) and everyone's happy....

She's running McAfee, paid a 2 year subscription.. despite my suggestions to run AVG or Avast! and use Windoze firewall..

Now I'm going to have to get her to install Chrome, CCleaner and Spybot S&D ..