1st project - Alpine Stars Cro-Mega LX 1989

PeeBeds

Old School Hero
Hey guys,

Ive been hangin around for a week or so and normally, when Im new to a place I like to scope the joint out for a month or so before I do any posting, but RetroBike just gives me a good feeling, so here we go....

The bike Im going to build in this project is the second MTB I bought (the first being a 22" bright green Raleigh Lizard) when I was 19. I got the bike as a "last years model" sale job in 1990, I think I paid £300 for it brand new. At the time the shop had a couple of Cro-mega DX's for sale for £350, but I wanted some shoes and shorts too, so couldnt afford them on my apprentice wages.

First race was at a place called Tong near Bradford in the Yorkshire MBC series in 1990. I raced the bike for about 3 years and in that time upgraded the brakes to some Dia-Comp canti's with Ritchey levers, I also junked the plastic STI shifters for some DX thumbies. A pair of DX SPD's and a DX front mech with an XT rear were also added, as well as a pair of RC35's from Stif in Leeds (back when the "shop" was a wooden counter in a garage!!) Wheels were changed for Mavic 231's with DX hubs and a pair of Onza Porcupines. I also changed the chainset for a pair of Cooks and fitted an Action-Tec Ti bottom bracket.

The bike was eventually traded in for an Orange Aluminium O, but it was resurrected in about 1994 by my then-girlfriend (now wife) who raced it to great effect, only changing to a Trek 9800 when she turned expert at the end of her first season!!

The cool thing is, I still have the majority of the original gear, as well as the upgraded bits but I dont have the Pace forks, saddle or the tyres anymore.