Newbie; what make/model is my bike?

poltheball

Retro Newbie
Hi folks,

Complete beginner at classic bikes here, so please bear with me. I was recently handed an old race bike that was otherwise going to be skipped by a family member; my only problem is that I've no idea what it is, what it's worth, whether I should try and restore it or not...

Photos:

IMG_20140917_124046095 by poltheball, on Flickr

IMG_20140917_124300286_HDR by poltheball, on Flickr

From noseying about the bike, it's got some pretty awesome lugging at the headtube area, and the original colour was (or included) a light baby blue. It has Specialities TA cranks and pedals, Weimann type 730 brakes, Mavic Monthlery Pro rims, Campag downtube shifters and a Suntour Cyclone rear mech.

There are more pictures on my photostream here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/58370809@N05/

Complete noob question; how do I fit a rear mech on to a sliding dropout frame? And is this bike worth putting a bit of work into, or selling on to someone who could do a better job than me? Really want to strip the orange paint off, but don't want to ruin whatever is lurking beneath.

Cheers,
Paul

Those lugs look familiar but may have been used by many bike companies. I can tell you that the frame appears to be much older than the parts which are from the mid 70s to 80s. Likely a 50s (40s) path racer, as you noted with the track ends, and definitely worth restoring. You could try lacquer thinner and a soft cloth to remove the top layer of paint. Be careful not to over work any given area or the finish underneath may come off as well.

Re:

Thanks, might give the paint removal a bash. Could be hiding more clues as to what it is! Going to look for id numbers on the frame/fork, see if that throws anything up.