Specialized Rockhopper renovation project

Amlabenz

Retro Newbie
Hey, I've recently purchased a specialized rockhopper from ebay. I'm fairly new to the world of bikes but keen to learn!

Here's the before picture - Screenshot_20220105-091705.png

I've taken it apart but having issues with a seized seat. Aside from this I'm not quite sure what parts to go with. The long term goal is to build something like this - specialized-rockhopper-1992-by-glassrobot-cover-large.jpg

Any recommendations on parts would be greatly appreciated!

It seems like you could probably use most of the existing parts unless they are broken or too worn out. The cassette (rear cogs), chainrings (front cogs), chain, cables and cable housing, and brake pads might need replacing. You can also replace rear derailleur pulley wheels if needed at fairly low cost. All those parts should be available to one degree or another on the internet with a few minutes of searching. Otherwise, everything should be pretty usable. You could replace the existing crankset with the one you suggested (may have to get a different bottom bracket for best fitting), but I'm not sure it would get you a big change. Are you looking for chainrings with more teeth? I'm about to put a new 1x10 drive train on my wife's old Specialized Crossroads (same as what's in the "after" picture you posted), and I can get a decent one on the internet for around $200 US. I'd think you could get something similar with the appropriate number of gears to fit that rear hub for a similar price. That way you can ditch the existing grip shifters unless you like them (I'm not a fan). Hopefully, that helps a little, apologies if it's not helpful or patronizing. Old Mtn bikes make for great cruisers!