Shimano Branded Mystery Frame/Bike Titanium(?) What is It??

StevieBob

Dirt Disciple
Hello All,

Have not been posting in a long while now. But this frame/bike has me coming back here because I need the expertise of this forum!

So I bought this bike this week and the frame has no branding except for Shimano stickers. The bike is build up with high end Shimano kit, the parts include:
XTR ST-M950 M951 shifters and brake levers.
XT M739 V-Brakes, Rear Mech, Crank.
CX 400 Front Mech (strangely enough)
Deore LX Parallax hubs on FIR MT 232 Rims.
RST Mozo Pro SL front fork

So all that puts it around 96/97 right?

Now to the fun stuff. The frame is from a strange material, I think it is titanium because I do not know what else it could be :S But The finish of the metal looks weird to me, but then again I have no real experience with titanium. The frame is not magnetic anywhere! The tubes are not thick and the welds are very neat (so no aluminium then??), seat tube and top tube have a 12,2mm diameter. The walls are 3mm thick on head and seat tube. The frame is 1600grams on a 50cm (seat tube) sized frame! That is pretty good stuff and I think another argument for titanium?

So considering it has only Shimano stickers with no clear coat over them, but they are put on there very professionally and the high end Shimano parts I think this is a promo/demo bike or something? Shimano has done this and they never build frames themselves. The only marking the frame itself has is: H744, on the drive side drop out. So the question is: WHAT THE HECK IS IT???

Pictures below! Note: I made the pictures after washing the frame but I did not dry it so it has watermarks (they came off easily with a buff with a slightly damp cloth).

IMG_7991 (1) by Stephen Lauret, on Flickr

IMG_7992 by Stephen Lauret, on Flickr

IMG_7993 by Stephen Lauret, on Flickr

IMG_7994 by Stephen Lauret, on Flickr

IMG_7995 by Stephen Lauret, on Flickr

IMG_7996 by Stephen Lauret, on Flickr