Confirm this isn’t factory welding please?

d8mok

Gold Trader
GT Fan
Feedback
View
I know the answer as I wouldn’t believe it could be factory welding as it’s very messy.

But this is a repair isn’t it?

Attachments

• 8F838B6B-13B7-4463-8CEA-6523916829ED.jpeg
    8F838B6B-13B7-4463-8CEA-6523916829ED.jpeg
    451.9 KB · Views: 128
  • DA3FAC6C-7622-4652-AE14-ED0EA317F329.jpeg
    DA3FAC6C-7622-4652-AE14-ED0EA317F329.jpeg
    411.3 KB · Views: 123
That's pulled a shed load of bronze in from somewhere. I'd say it's not factory, but I can't see what would have happened to make a repair like that.

Looking at that, I'd hazard a guess it's snapped in two, the brazed/welded back together, then they've used 'filler rods' to build back up but welding/brazing isn't a something I'm an expert in

Another angle.

Assuming it maybe had a crack near the horseshoe chainsuck protector maybe

Attachments

• 78E0AA99-AEF9-42E7-9F72-0CEDC6DA8662.jpeg
    78E0AA99-AEF9-42E7-9F72-0CEDC6DA8662.jpeg
    486.1 KB · Views: 78
That's not a repair.
That's a bodge.

And a shitty one at that!
Did you read my first line of the opening post where I said the welding is “very messy” or did you glance past that part …..

Bodge or not it’s lasted some years by sounds of it even though not pretty.