Another mystery bike to identify

Brootal

Retro Newbie
Hi all,
First time poster here looking for help identifying a bike I picked up this weekend. I was thinking it would be a lower end Dawes or Raleigh tourer but I'm not so sure, there's a bit more detailing than I'd expect. It feels like a really well made bike but I've no experience so it's hard to tell. It has been repainted so I've not got much to go off but here's a few pics. Any ideas? I took it for a little ride which was not the best idea in the rain as it's currently sporting v brakes and standard levers. Felt like a nice ride. IMG_20210803_174410567_HDR.jpg IMG_20210803_174420156.jpg IMG_20210803_174426848.jpg IMG_20210803_174438385.jpg IMG_20210803_174520732.jpg

Looks like a proper tourer, nicely detailed with the pump pip on the head tube - does it have a chain hanger on the seatstay? Dawes usually had their name embossed on the top of the seatstays.

I can't see anything that could be a chain hanger. I wasn't even sure the one on the head tube was for a pump as I thought it was a bit low but couldn't think of anything else it could be for. Thanks for confirming.

It has the look of a thorn with the fork crown. Ive only ever worked on an audax which has a different seat stay join but the did other 700c frames. Might be worth a dig in their archive.

If it is a thorn then you are one lucky person.

Thanks for that. I see what you mean about the fork crown but I can't see anything with similar lugwork on the rest of the bike. I'll have a Google some older models.

Yep, that looks like a touristique. I picked up my second one of these last night but it is nowhere near as shiny as yours lol